A pleasant service town just north of the NSW border. It is is the
administrative centre for the vast Paroo Shire which covers 47 617 sq.
km of South West Queensland.
Location: 972 km west of Brisbane; 120 km north of the NSW border; 188 m above sea-level.
Events: Cunnamulla Fella Festival is a celebration of this region's
proud pastoral heritage. including horse and bull riding, a
demonstration of bushman skills, live country music and a carnival
atmosphere that provides all the ingredients for a great outback event.
Cunnamulla Fella Festival is held every November. For more details
contact the Cunnamulla Fella Centre Visitors Information 07 4655 8470.
The Cunnamulla Fella is a bronze statue of a ‘larrikin’
sitting on his swag and this character was bought to life by the lyrics
of Stan Coster who was working in the district in the 1950’s
during the prosperous wool industry. It was when he saw young boys
sitting on their swags outside the pub, waiting to be picked up by the
graziers or the mail truck, that he became inspired to write the
lyrics. It was later immortalized in a song by the late Slim Dusty and
more recently by Lee Kernagan. The statue was sculptured by Archie
St.Clair, with such detail, that he gives life to the 'larrikin' as he
gazes across the town.
The Robber's Tree: Apart from the natural attractions of native flora
and fauna found in the Cunnamulla district, the town has a number of
historical sites of interest, listed on the Heritage Trail including
the well-known Robber's Tree. The tree is a living reminder of the
Cunnamulla Bank Robbery in 1880. The Robber, Joseph Wells, hid in the
tree but was quickly captured by the irate townspeople whose money he
had stolen. Unfortunately, for Wells, his loyal dog revealed his
location when he sat under the tree waiting for his master. Joseph
Wells goes down in history as the last man in Queensland to receive the
death penalty. The Robbers Tree is located in Stockyard Street,
Artesian Time Tunnel: When you visit Cunnamulla you will be standing on
the world's largest underground river. In 1887 at Thurlugoona near
Cunnamulla the first flow of artesian water in Queensland was struck.
The Artesian Time Tunnel experience simulates time travel back 100
million years to the beginnings of the Great Artesian Basin, (the life
blood of the Outback) which predates the formation of Opal and the Age
The Culture Theatre: features the 'Water Down Under' story of the Great
Artesian Basin acknowledging Aboriginal peoples connection to country
and the importance of water for life, lifestyle and industry in outback
The Museum showcases the heritage and rich history of Cunnamulla and
the Paroo Shire with rare artefacts and memorabilia on display.
Art Gallery: open Monday to Friday 9.00am to 4.00pm, and Saturday and Sunday 10am to 1.30pm.
Warrago River Walk: this 2.5 kilometre walk starts after you cross the
Darby land bridge over the Warrego River and turn left. The trail takes
you along the Warrego River and across the black flood plains and
through the channels. Interpretive signage identifies the vegetation
and the animal and bird life. It is a great place for bird watching and
the bird life will vary depending on the season. Early morning walkers
will see pelicans, ducks and kookaburras. The vastness of the western
skies can be appreciated from the sunset viewing deck, which is built
in the fashion of a stock loading ramp and located half way along the
walk. A booklet and map is available from the Visitor Information
View Larger Map
Following a visit by explorer William Landsborough in 1862,
development of the town began in earnest. The rich plains and river
flats were ideal for sheep and cattle grazing and these primary
industries played a key role in the growth of the town.
Today, with the availability of irrigated water from the Alan Tannock
Weir, Cunnamulla has two fruit growing farms established on the western
side of the Warrego River, specialising in table grapes for the
Australian market. Cunnamulla became more accessible to settlers and
traders when Cobb & Co. commenced a coach service into the district
in 1867. Public education came to Cunnamulla in 1877 and two years
later the Paroo Divisional Board was formed being the commencement of
local government for the area.
Origin of name: derived from the name of a pastoral run first recorded
in 1867, being taken from the name of a deep waterhole in the Warrego
Home of the World Championship Lizard Races, the town of Eulo is
situated on the Bulloo Developmental Road (Adventure Way) 70 km west of
Cunnamulla and has a population of about 70 people. The township was
originally built close to the Paroo River but as floods almost wiped
out the entire town, building began on higher ground where Eulo now
stands. The rural land surrounding Eulo is predominantly used for sheep
and cattle grazing, however, the area is well known for its rich
flavoursome honey obtained from the blossom of the local native
Yapunyah tree. Honey along with other natural products made from bees
wax are produced at Eulo for the local and national market. The Eulo
and Yowah Opal areas are in the region and are famed for the Mosaic
Eulo has numerous attractions, such as the Lizard Lounge, a picnic
area, the Bilby Burrow art and craft gallery, a general store with a
display of honey production, a date farm and winery open to all
visitors; also provides the unusual experience of a hot artesian water
and mud bath, and mud springs just west of the town.