Rosedale

A small farming community, the town occupies part of the historic Holey Plains grazing run.

Location: 187 km east of Melbourne.

Holey Plains State Park: covers an area of 10,638 hectares of mostly Banksia and Eucalypt open-forest and woodlands growing in a series of low sandy ridges. Visitors can explore the park on foot via a number of different walks. Many of the tracks off Rosedale-Stradbroke Road provide easy walks and are particularly beautiful in spring when wildflowers are in bloom.

Baw Baw National Park: Covering a substantial part of the Baw Baw Plateau and sections of the Thomson and Aberfeldy River valleys, Baw Baw National Park offers colourful wildflowers in early summer and open grassy plains with Snow Gum woodlands. Mount St Gwinear, Mount Erica and the Baw Baw Alpine Village are ideal bases for bushwalking. The Thomson River downstream of the Thomson Dam offers some of the best white water rafting in Victoria. Several tour companies provide rafting tours all year round.

Rosedale was the home of Patrobas, the only Gippsland racehorse to have won a Melbourne Cup, and the only racehorse to have won the cup, Caulfield Guineas and Derby in the same year, 1915. Patrobus was owned by Mrs Edith Widdis whose home, Nambrok House in Rosedale. Bobby Lewis rode the number 19 horse to victory in the Melbourne Cup.

After 12 years of planning, the statue has made its home at Rosedale’s Prince Street Reserve. For the residents of Rosedale, Patrobas is their champion and they have poured all their creative energy into getting the statue built.



Places of Interest: Honeysuckle Hill; Holey Hill; The Long Swamp; Ben Winch Swamp; Toms Cap; Mechanics Institute (1863); St Mark’s Church (1874); Holey Plain historic homestead (1889)

Brief history: Once a staging post on the Port Albert to Sale coach run, Rosedale was established as a service centre in the middle of run at the point where the track crosses the Latrobe River. The first inhabitants were shepherds. Once a dairy and mixed farming district, it is now mainly grazing with the largest employer being Rosedale Leather, which established a large tannery in the early 1990s.

Origin of name: Blind Joe, a Chinese man who was blind in one eye, had his hut here and the town became known as Blind Joe’s Hut. The name was replaced by Rosedale in 1855 when it became the nearest town to the Baw Baw and Stringer’s Creek goldfields. It takes its name from Rosedale Station which was opened up in the mid 1840s by David Parry-Okeden and his wife Rosalie who bequeathed her name to the village.

Design by W3Layouts | Content © 2013 Phoenix Group Co. | Sales: phone 1300 753 517, email: sales@pleasureholidays.com.au