A small township located on the old Melbourne to Sale Road. The town
overlooks the Blue Rock Lake, which is popular for fishing and summer
Location: 16 km north of Moe.
Blue Rock Lake: a man made
lake, named for an early goldmine in the area. Construction of the
water storage dam began in 1979 and was completed in 1984. The lake is
also used for recreational activities including fishing, sailing,
swimming and picnicking. Willow Grove originally serviced the Tanjil
gold diggings, the major part of which were flooded by Blue Rock Lake
in 1984. Gold was first discovered in this area in 1858. The reefs and
leads in the hills were rich in gold, the Empire Reef yielding five and
a half ounces to the ton. After the mining boom, farming was the main
occupation, and the name Tangil had now become Tanjil.
Natural features: Mount Carmel; Mount Tanjil; Springsures Hill; Baw Baw National Park
Brief history: The town originally serviced the Tanjil gold diggings,
that was flooded by Blue Rock Dam in 1984. Blue Rock is where the body
of murdered toddler, Jaidyn Leskie, was discovered on 1st January 1998.
Tanjil Bren (48 km north) is
an old gold prospector’s village in the foothills of the Baw Baw
ranges, it was established during the Victorian Gold Rush. The town
features a small store which sells snacks and is only open during the
ski season. Four accommodation lodges, Mooshead, Reindeer,
Jenny’s and Timbertop Lodge, are located in Tanjil Bren. A
picturesque Strahan Walking Track takes visitors alongside the river
and the village’s gold digggings site.